The commission advises the Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce on plans for conversion to the metric system and assists all sectors to prepare conversion plans and disseminate information. It includes over 100 sector committees covering all areas of the Canadian economy. The staff and 11 steering committees play a coordinating role for these sector committees, with the major impetus for conversion coming from the committee members who represent industry, labour, consumer, trade, standards and service associations, governments and other concerned bodies.

Each sector committee develops a conversion plan for the sector involved: after liaison with other related sectors, the committee recommends the sector plan to a steering committee for concurrence, then the plan is reviewed and approved by the commission. Both individual sector plans and overall national guidelines are following a framework known as the Four-Phase Program of Guideline Dates for Metric Conversion (investigation, planning, scheduling and implementation) to ensure, as far as possible, that programs are phased in and coordinated so as to obtain the benefits of metric conversion with minimal costs.

The ongoing task of the steering committees and their sector committees is to monitor the progress of conversion and suggest any necessary modifications to plans in order to meet changing conditions.

Public information activities include the distribution of periodicals, pamphlets and brochures, the maintenance of an extensive film and colour transparency library, the use of a speakers' bureau to provide talks to interested organizations, exhibits for trade fairs and shows, and the production and distribution of documentary films and TV clips in both official languages. Through a mailing address for the general public (Box 4000, Ottawa, Ont.) requests are handled for information on metric conversion in Canada.

Ministry of State for Science and Technology. This ministry was established by Order in Council PC 1971-1695 on August 11, 1971, with the primary purpose of formulating and developing policies in relation to the activities of the Government of Canada that affect the development and application of science and technology. It is organized into three operational branches: Government Branch, Industry Branch and University Branch. The Minister of State for Science and Technology is also designated as the Minister for the Science Council Act, the Cabinet member to whom the Science Council of Canada reports.

Ministry of State for Urban Affairs. The ministry was created June 30, 1971 in accordance with the Government Organization Act 1970 (SC 1971, c.42). The ministry's objective is to develop the most appropriate means by which the federal government may beneficially influence the evolution of urbanization in Canada, through the integration of urban policy and objectives with other federal policies, objectives, and programs. The ministry fosters cooperative relationships in urban affairs with the provinces and, through them, their municipalities, and with private organizations and the public. Under the direction of the secretary and three assistant secretaries, the ministry is divided into three branches: Urban Analysis, responsible for initiating research on urbanization and developing federal urban policies and objectives in cooperation with other federal agencies; Intergovernmental Relations, responsible for liaison with other levels of government and the public; and Priorities and Operations, responsible for international affairs, communications, and the internal coordination and administration of ministry activities.

National Advisory Council on Fitness and Amateur Sport. The council was established in 1961 by the Fitness and Amateur Sport Act (RSC 1970, c.F-25) to advise the Minister of National Health and Welfare on all matters relating to fitness and amateur sport in Canada. The council is an autonomous organization, composed of 30 members that are appointed by the Governor in Council and who represent every Canadian province and territory. Its three committees — Fitness, Recreation and Sport — meet periodically through the year to discuss and examine matters related to their areas of concern. At least twice a year, a General Council meeting is held at which recommendations to the minister are formulated. The administrative arm for fitness and amateur sports is the Fitness and Amateur Sport Branch of the Department of National Health and Welfare. The branch, through its numerous programs and operations, is involved in improving the participation of all Canadians in physical recreation and amateur sport as well as supporting Canadian athletes in their pursuit of excellence.

National Arts Centre Corporation. The act establishing the corporation (RSC 1970, c.N-2) received assent July 15, 1966. The corporation consists of a board of trustees composed of a chairman, a vice-chairman, the mayors of Ottawa and Hull, the Director of the Canada Council, the President of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, the Government Film Commissioner and nine other members appointed by the Governor in Council for terms not exceeding three years, except for the first appointees whose terms range from two to four years. The objects of the corporation are to operate and maintain the National Arts Centre, to develop the performing arts in the National Capital Region and to assist the Canada Council in the development of the performing arts elsewhere in Canada. The corporation reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

National Battlefields Commission. This commission was established by an act of Parliament in 1908 (SC 1908, cc.57-58, as amended) to preserve the Historic Battlefields at Quebec City. Composed of nine members, seven appointed by the federal government and one each by Ontario and Quebec, the